25.8 C

INEC Declares Tinubu President-elect

Must read

After the collation of results from the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has been declared the winner of the 2023 presidential election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmud Yakubu, who is also the Returning Officer for the presidential election, announced the results, in the early hours of today.

He said the APC flag bearer scored the highest number of lawful votes in the election and also satisfied the provisions of the law, and was therefore returned elected.

Tinubu polled 8,794,726 votes to defeat his closest rivals, including candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, who polled 6,984,520, and the Labour Party candidate, LP, Mr. Peter Obi, who polled 6,101,533.

According to the breakdown of the results, Tinubu won in 12 states, Atiku also won in 12 states and Obi won in 11 states and the Federal Capital Territory. Kwankwaso won only in Kano State.

Tinubu would be sworn in on May 29, as President Muhammadu Buhari’s successor.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article