25.8 C

Tinubu thrashes Atiku Abubakar, wins Borno with 252,282 votes

Must read

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has won Borno State.

He polled 252,282 votes to defeat the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar who polled 190,921 votes.

The candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, polled 7,205 while that of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNNP) Rabiu Kwankwaso polled 4,626.

The former Lagos Governor won in 23 local government areas while the PDP candidate won in four LGAs.

Prof Rabo, who is the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Wukari, said of the 2,497, 337 registered voters, 499, 543 were accredited for the election while valid votes stood at 465, 287 while rejected votes stood at 32, 658 and the total votes cast stood at 497, 945.

The councils won by Tinubu are: Maiduguri; Kukawa; Damboa; Gubio; Kaga; Magumeri; Mafa; Kwaya Kusar; Konduga; Nganzai; Dikwa; Bayo; Guzamala; Abadam; Mobbar; Gwoza; Bama; Kala/Balge; Ngala; Marte; Jere; Monguno; and Shani.

While Atiku won in Askira/Uba; Chibok; Hawul and Biu LGAs.

There was However a mild drama as the party agent of the PDP disputed the result of Danboa, calling for cancellation of the figures obtained by the APC.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article