29.2 C

I remain indisputable leader of APC in Ekiti – Fayemi

Must read

Ekiti State governor, Kayode Fayemi, has described his suspension from the All Progressives Party, APC as ‘a joke taken too far’, insisting that he is the indisputable leader of the party in Ekiti State.

His response to the announcement of his suspension was contained in a statement titled ‘Governor Fayemi’s purported suspension: A joke taken too far” on Friday.

In the statement, Fayemi’s Chief Press Secretary, Yinka Oyebode, said those behind the governor’s suspension lacked any legitimacy, as they had all been suspended by the party.

He said, “The All Progressives Congress as a party is governed by laws. Members of the group cannot hide under their recent suspension to announce a dubious suspension they lack the locus to handle.

“While one would have dismissed their claims as another failed attempt to polarise the party in the state, it is also important to put it on record that the action of the group smacks of criminal impersonation as none of those who signed the purported suspension letter were executive members of the party at ward, local government or state level.

“The action is but a joke taken too far as they never had such power they want to arrogate to themselves while they were members of the party, much less now that they have been suspended.

“Governor Fayemi however remains unperturbed by these antics of the suspended members.

“Well-meaning members of the public as well as members of the APC are urged to disregard the news of the purported suspension as it only exists in the imagination of members of the group.

“Fayemi remains the indisputable leader of the APC in the state.”

Fedredsnews had reported that a faction of the party in Ekiti State announced the suspension of the governor from the party for anti-party activities.

The faction also described as illegal the Paul Omotoso-led state executives of the party.

Those who signed the communique announcing Fayemi’s suspension are Senator Adeniyi; Senator Babafemi Ojudu; Senator Dayo Adeyeye; Bimbo Daramola, Robinson Ajiboye; Oye Ojo, Ekiti; Adewale Omirin; and Femi Adeleye.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: